CFUW Dr. Margaret McWilliams Pre-Doctoral Fellowship 2022-2023

2022 – 2023

Value: $11,000

This fellowship, established in 1952, honours Margaret McWilliams, first CFUW President (1919-1923), who dedicated her life to furthering the status of women through improved access to higher education and the active involvement of women in public life. It is awarded to a woman who has completed at least one calendar year in a full-time doctoral program and is enrolled in full-time studies in Canada or abroad at the time of application.

2022-2023 Winner:

Tasha Jawa - McWilliams Winner 2022-2023
Tasha Jawa


B.Sc. Neuroscience & Psychology, 2012, University of Toronto
M.Sc. Quality Improvement & Patient Safety, 2020, University of Toronto
M.D./Ph.D. Neuroscience, 2020-2027, Queen’s University

Although the initiation of kidney replacement therapy (KRT) may be a lifesaving intervention for individuals with kidney failure, KRT is associated with poor neurocognitive outcomes, and reduced quality of life. Adults on dialysis in the ICU may be particularly at risk, as survivors of critical illness are already predisposed to developing cerebrovascular disease and long-term cognitive dysfunction. Tasha’s research aims to understand the immediate, short-, and long-term neurological consequences of KRT in the ICU.